When Pluto was Downgraded to Dwarf Planet

In 2006, the ninth planet, Pluto, was demoted to a “dwarf planet” because of its size. 


Courtesy of KarBel Media

Jacob Chau, Contributor

Popular astrophysicist Neil Degrasse Tyson said “to deem Pluto a planet would insult all other planets.” Pluto, originally discovered by Clyde Tombaugh, was named after the Roman god of the Underworld, Pluto. Currently, there are 5 dwarf planets in the Solar System: Pluto, Eris, Ceres, Makemake, and Haumea. According to NASA, Pluto has “red snow,” unlike Earth which has white snow. The red snow occurs because of the chemical composition of Pluto.

Our next dwarf planet is Eris which is basically about the same size as Pluto, but the distance away from the Sun is three times the distance. Most of the time Eris is in a frozen state. Another dwarf planet, Ceres, was once identified as a meteor, but astrophysicists determined that Ceres is bigger than the average meteor. NASA stated, “Ceres is named for the Roman goddess of corn and harvests. The word cereal comes from the same name.”

Like Ceres, Makemake, was also once considered a meteor. Makemake was named after a Rapanui god of fertility. Makemake also has a freezing temperature so cold that there is most likely no form of extraterrestrial beings on the dwarf planet. The last dwarf planet in the Solar System is Haumea, named after a god in Hawaiian mythology. Haumea is the first of the Dwarf planets in the Kuiper Belt that has rings around it. The Kuiper Belt is a set of orbiting objects that are beyond the orbit of Neptune.